Attack on Titan Season 2: Episode 1 Impression

I do not read the manga, so I have been waiting 4 years since season one ended to continue this series. Even though I was not the biggest fan when it originally aired back in 2013, as a lot of people hyped it so much and calling it the best anime ever. (Each to their own.) And being around YouTube you could potentially get spoiled when the latest episode aired, it was rather annoying watching it back then.

This does not mean that I despise the series, yes I do have some issues as with other series but over all I enjoyed watching it.
We have all been waiting patiently for season 2 to finally air and I was pleased to hear when it got confirmed that it would air this season. I was ready for it to launch on Crunchyroll after waiting 4 years from that cliffhanger from season 1.

Episode 1 or 26 as it’s mentioned of Attack on Titan Season 2 carried on from where Season 1 left off. I will not mention what has happened because at the start of the episode they do a nice recap of what has happened in the last season.

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 13.10.17

After the long wait did I enjoy it? Yes I did, I think the pacing of the episode was done well. Enjoyed hearing the OST once again. Not sure if there were any new songs introduced but that music composed by Hiroyuki Sawano got me excited during the scenes.

Animation overall was good, nothing to complain about. Everything seemed to work especially the action scenes as well with the CGI, which didn’t stand out like a sore thumb like in some anime series.

One of the best things of new anime season is to hear/watch the new OP (Opening) and I think everyone wanted to see what Wit Studio would deliver for this season OP and I personally I think it’s great. Nothing will beat the first OP from the series some people may say but visually it looked great and to have Linked Horizon back again to do the OP. Even though you could see what’s coming up by watching the OP, I don’t feel it spoiled anything for non-manga readers, which is always good.

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 13.13.04

The ending cliffhanger was decent but didn’t make me want to watch the next episode in a hurry.

If you watched Attack on Titan dubbed you will be happy to know that it’s been confirmed to air on Toonami (USA) on April 29th April 22nd, so you don’t have long to wait.

If you want to watch this series right now, you can do so by legally watch it on Crunchyroll and Funimation.

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 13.13.23

If you enjoyed this episode impression and want to help me create more content,
please consider giving me feedback, sharing this post around so that I know that you enjoyed this content from me and would like to see more.

Be sure to follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Thank you,

BDT87

Leave a Reply

